Member News

Peter Bale named new Chief Executive Officer of The Center for Public Integrity

Peter Bale, former Vice President and General Manager of Digital operations at CNN International, has been named Chief Executive Officer at the Center for Public Integrity, the global nonprofit investigative journalism organization based in Washington, DC.

Bale succeeds William E. Buzenberg, who has served as Executive Director since 2007 and overseen countless award-winning investigations, including the Pulitzer Prize-winning Breathless and Burdened. 

“We are thrilled to have Peter Bale join the Center for Public Integrity as our new Chief Executive Officer," said Bruce Finzen, the Center’s Board Chair.  

"Peter brings more than three decades of experience as a distinguished ... Read more

Ciotta moves to WIVB-Buffalo, NY

Rose Ciotta has joined WIVB-Buffalo, N.Y., as an investigative producer leading the investigative team. She formerly worked at The Philadelphia Inquirer as a senior projects editor and co-edited the paper's 2012 Pulitzer Prize-winning project on school violence.

McKim joins New England Center for Investigative Reporting

Jenifer McKim has moved to The New England Center for Investigative Reporting as assistant managing editor and senior investigative reporter.

McKim most recently worked as a social issues and business reporter at the Boston Globe, where she received a 2011 Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism for a story on domestic sex trafficking of minors. She also worked on the Investigative Team at the Orange County Register in California, where she headed a group of reporters who wrote about lead-tainted imported Mexican candies. The project was nominated as a finalist for the 2005 Pulitzer Prize in Public Service.

Read more

Morris, Greene, Hamby win WHCA award

Jim Morris, Ronnie Greene and Chris Hamby will receive the White House Correspondents Association’s 2013 Edgar A. Poe Award at the association’s annual dinner in Washington on April 27.

They earned the reward for The Center for Public Integrity’s ongoing “Hard Labor” series, which “revealed how corporate irresponsibility and lax regulation contribute to thousands of worker deaths, injuries and illnesses in America each year,” according to the Center.

The Edgar A. Poe Award honors “excellence in news coverage of subjects and events of significant national or regional importance to the American people,” according to the WHCA.

Read more

Emmys go to Greene, Mosk, Ross, Schwartz, Schone

Several IRE members were honored with a national Emmy Award for their joint investigation into the U.S. government’s green energy program.

Ronnie Greene of The Center for Public Integrity and Matthew Mosk, Brian Ross, Rhonda Schwartz and Mark Schone of ABC News received a News and Documentary Emmy for “Green Energy: Contracts, Connections and the Collapse of Solyndra.”

The investigation won in the category, “Outstanding Business and Economic Reporting in a Regularly Scheduled Newscast.”

Greene and Mosk also received a Sigma Delta Chi Award and were finalists for a Columbia University John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism. Greene, ... Read more

Erin Siegal honored by Overseas Press Club

A 2012 Overseas Press Club Award Citation for Best Reporting on Latin America was awarded to Erin Siegal for her debut book, "Finding Fernanda" (Beacon Press).  "Finding Fernanda" examines international adoption corruption between Guatemala and the United States.

Siegal, a Fellow at the Schuster Institute for Investigative Journalism, also recently received a 2012 James Madison Freedom of Information Award from the Northern California Society of Professional Journalists and a 2012 Independent Publisher Book Award (IPPY Award) gold medal in the category of Current Events II for her work.

Read more

Jeremy Finley, Stuart Watson win awards

Congratulations to IRE members who won or were on winning teams in the Midsouth Emmy Awards earlier this spring. Jeremy Finley of WSMV-TV, Nashville, received Emmys in the categories of Investigative Series, Business/Consumer Report and Journalistic Enterprise. Stuart Watson of WCNC-TV, Charlotte, N.C., received Emmys in the categories of Investigative Report and News Special.

IRE members start investigative unit at KNTV

Tony Kovaleski, Steve Stock and Jenna Susko have joined a new 15-member unit led by Matt Goldberg at NBC Bay Area KNTV-TV.

Kovaleski is chief investigative reporter after 10 years at KMGH-Denver. Stock is investigative reporter after more than four years at WFOR-Miami. Susko is watchdog reporter after four years at WPMI-Mobile, Alabama. Goldberg is newsroom managing editor and special projects producer.

Read more

Greenblatt joins ABC News

Mark Greenblatt, formerly of KHOU-TV, Houston, has moved to ABC News as a national correspondent in New York. Greenblatt worked for seven years as an investigative reporter at KHOU, winning awards including the duPont-Columbia, Peabody, National Headliner, National Emmy and two National Murrows.

IRE members win duPont Awards

Several IRE members won 2012 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards. The awards, which have been given out for 70 yerars, recognize the best in broadcast journalism from the previous year. IRE members made up the teams which won duPonts from local television,  including broadcast journalists at:

  • WFAA-TV, Dallas & Byron Harris for "Bitter Lessons"
  • WSB-TV, Atlanta & Jodie Fleischer for "Stealing Houses"
  • WTVF-TV, Nashville & Phil Williams for "Policing for Profit"

For a complete listing of all the award winners, and links to their work, visit the visit the duPont Awards page.

Read more