From plane parts cracking to air traffic controllers snoozing, there’s plenty to investigate in the aviation industry. Join NPR’s Robert Benincasa to learn about tools that can help you better cover the ever-growing issues in the sky. Learn how to expore the web to track down an aircraft’s history, problems with particular aircraft models and much more. This webinar is free to IRE members and will begin April 19 at 3 p.m. (Eastern), 2 p.m. (Central), 1 p.m. (Mountain) and 12 p.m. (Pacific).

Benicasa will highlight the FAA’s Air Traffic Activity System, data downloads and statistics will be highlighted during this session. In addition, you’ll learn how the NTSB archives accident reports so you can look into past accidents that are similar to something you’re covering.

BENINCASA is the computer-assisted reporting producer for NPR News in Washington, D.C. His recent work includes data analyses of coal mine safety and nursing home populations. Prior to joining NPR in 2008, he was database editor at Gannett News Service, the Washington bureau for Gannett’s daily newspapers. Benincasa also serves on the faculty of Georgetown University’s master of professional studies program in journalism.

For more information visit IRE’s Online Training page. Space is limited so please register today. (Note: This webinar is only available to IRE members. You will need your IRE member ID to register.)