Deep dive: Phil Meyer Award winners

  • Event: 2015 CAR Conference
  • Speakers: Phil Williams of WTVF-Nashville; David Donald of Investigative Reporting Workshop-American University; Ryan McNeill of Reuters; Michael Grabell of ProPublica; Lena Groeger of ProPublica; Jeff Larson of The Markup; Olga Pierce of University of Nebraska - Lincoln; Fred Schulte of Kaiser Health News
  • Date/Time: Saturday, Mar. 7 at 11:20am
  • Location: International 2-3
  • Audio file: Only members can listen to conference audio

*Moderated by Phil Williams, WTVF-Nashville

The winners of the Philip Meyer Award take you behind the scenes and offer insights, tips and strategies that helped them pull of their award-winning work. These projects uncovered how the medical injuries overbills elderly patients to the tune of billions of dollars, the dangers that temporary workers face and the risks of rising ocean levels.

Speaker Bios

  • David Donald is the data editor at the Investigative Reporting Workshop, a nonprofit newsroom at American University. Donald also is on the faculty as data journalist in-residence. Prior to the Workshop, he was data editor the Center for Public Integrity and was training director for IRE and NICAR, conducting sessions in the States and internationally. He is the recipient of the Philip Meyer Award and the Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award, among [email protected]_donald

  • Michael Grabell covers economic and labor issues for ProPublica. He has produced stories for the New York Times, Vice, NPR and Time. His investigative work has included stories on workers' comp, temp labor, the TSA, Lance Armstrong, bus safety and toxic chemicals. Grabell previously worked at The Dallas Morning News. He is the author of "Money Well Spent?," a book about President Obama’s stimulus package and the Great Recession. @MichaelGrabell

  • Lena Groeger is an investigative journalist and developer at ProPublica, where she makes interactive graphics and writes about design’s real world consequences. She is on the board of the Society for News Design, and has taught classes on design and data visualization at NYU, The New School, CUNY and UC Berkeley. Before joining ProPublica in 2011, Groeger covered health and science at Scientific American and Wired magazine.  @lenagroeger

  • Jeff Larson is the managing editor of The Markup a non profit investigative news organization illuminating how powerful institutions are using technology in ways that impact people and society. He is a Peabody Award winner, two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist, and past recipient of a Livingston Award for Young Journalists. He previously worked at ProPublica and The Nation.

  • Ryan McNeill is the London-based deputy editor of the Reuters data journalism team. Most recently, his work showed how Burkina Faso’s increasing instability is putting thousands of gold mines in reach of jihadists, as well as how billions of dollars of gold are leaving Africa illegally through the United Arab Emirates. He has previously worked for The Dallas Morning News, South Florida Sun-Sentinel and The Oklahoman. He is a graduate of Oklahoma State University. 

  • Olga Pierce is on the faculty at the College of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and a Data Journalism Adviser to ProPublica. Previously, she worked at ProPublica for ten years as a reporter and Deputy Data Editor. She is a graduate of the Stabile Investigative Seminar at Columbia University. @olgapierce

  • Fred Schulte is part of the new investigative team at Kaiser Health news. He was previously a senior reporter at the Center for Public Integrity, and is a four-time Pulitzer Prize finalist, most recently in 2007 for a series on Baltimore’s arcane ground rent and tax-sale system. He also has worked at the Huffington Post, Baltimore Sun and South Florida Sun-Sentinel. Schulte has received the George Polk Award, two Investigative Reporters and Editors awards and two Philip Meyer Awards. He is the author of Fleeced!, an expose of telemarketing scams. @fredschulte

  • Phil Williams is chief investigative reporter for WTVF-TV in Nashville, specializing in government corruption. He is a three-time recipient of both the George Foster Peabody Award and the duPont Award. Other honors include a George Polk Award, an IRE Medal, the Hillman Prize, a national Emmy Award and numerous regional Emmys. A former print reporter, Phil was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Public Services. He is a former IRE Board member.

Related Tipsheets

No tipsheets have yet been uploaded for this event.