Broadcast: Deep dive II (Sponsored by National Association of Broadcasters)

  • Event: 2017 IRE Conference
  • Speakers: Danielle Leigh of ABC7 New York/WABC; Scott MacFarlane of NBC4 Washington; Rick Yarborough of NBC4 Washington; Scott Friedman of KXAS/NBC5 Dallas-Fort Worth
  • Date/Time: Friday, Jun. 23 at 2:30pm
  • Location: Grand Sonoran G
  • Audio file: No audio file available.

Award-winning investigative journalists explain how they produced big projects for broadcast and online. Journalists will show their investigations and take you through them step-by-step, from story tip to finished product.


Speaker Bios

  • Scott Friedman is Senior Investigative Reporter at KXAS-TV the NBC network owned station in Dallas-Fort Worth Texas.  His investigations have been recognized with a Peabody Award, five national Edward R. Murrow Awards, an Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE) award and a National News and Documentary Emmy for outstanding regional investigative report.

  • Danielle Leigh is an Emmy Award-winning investigative reporter for WABC-TV in NYC with a passion for storytelling.  Previously, she worked as a consumer reporter and anchor in Seattle. Her reporting on government corruption and mismanagement has led to new laws and policy changes. She's also helped viewers tricked by unscrupulous business practices recoup thousands of dollars. Twitter: @DanielleNLeigh Instagram: @DanielleLeighNews

  • Scott MacFarlane specializes in investigations of federal agencies, Congress and government misconduct. His reporting has led to the passage of three new laws, changes to state safety regulations and more than a dozen formal Congressional hearings. @MacFarlaneNews

  • Rick Yarborough is Senior Investigative Producer at NBC4 in Washington, D.C. He’s been honored with national awards, including a Peabody,  duPont-Columbia University, Gerald Loeb, Scripps Howard Foundation, National Headliners & Fourth Estate Award, along with Emmys and Murrows.  Rick's two year investigation into teacher misconduct recently led to three new laws in Virginia and was honored with the Anna Quindlen Award by the Child Welfare League of America. @ricknbc

Related Tipsheets