Minutes IRE Board of Directors June 30, 2020 Video Meeting

Executive Director Doug Haddix welcomed the approximately 80 people joining the IRE virtual board meeting via the Zoom webinar platform. He introduced staff members, then asked for roll call of board members.

He explained the election process and read from the <u>IRE Code of Conduct</u> in regards to expectations of the participants.

The following board members were present: Bethany Barnes, Jodie Fleischer, Jennifer Forsyth, Cindy Galli, Marisa Kwiatkowski, Jennifer LaFleur, Steven Rich, Mark Rochester, Brian Rosenthal, Kat Stafford, Cheryl W. Thompson, Jodi Upton, and Mark Walker.

Staff members in attendance: Executive Director Doug Haddix, Deputy Executive Director Denise Malan and Director of Partnerships Chris Vachon.

Note: During a month-long online voting process that concluded June 20, IRE members elected seven candidates to the board, including three Black members, increasing representation to a total of four. In addition, women hold a majority for the second consecutive year on the 13-member board.

Following the announcement of election results, the newly constituted board elected officers on June 20. The process resulted in an all-white Executive Committee. On June 24, the Executive Committee announced that <u>all five members would resign</u> to pave the way for a new election of officers.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

Haddix asked for nominations for president.

Mark Walker nominated Cheryl W. Thompson. Mark Rochester seconded the nomination. No other nominations were offered. With a voice vote of 13-0, Cheryl W. Thompson was elected as the IRE president.

Haddix asked for nominations for vice president.

Kat Stafford nominated Mark Rochester. Cheryl W. Thompson seconded the nomination. No other nominations were offered. With a voice vote of 13-0, Mark Rochester was elected as the IRE vice president.

Haddix asked for nominations for treasurer.

Cheryl W. Thompson nominated Jodi Upton. Brian Rosenthal seconded the nomination. No other nominations were offered. With a voice vote of 13-0, Jodi Upton was elected as the IRE treasurer.

Haddix asked for nominations for secretary.

Bethany Barnes nominated Jennifer LaFleur. Cheryl W. Thompson seconded the nomination. No other nominations were offered. With a voice vote of 13-0, Jennifer LaFleur was elected as the IRE secretary.

Haddix asked for nominations for the at-large position on the executive committee. Bethany Barnes nominated Steven Rich. Jodi Upton seconded the nomination. No other nominations were offered. With a voice vote of 13-0, Steven Rich was elected to the at-large position on the IRE executive committee.

Public comments began at 4:20 p.m.

Motion and second by Jodi Upton and Cindy Galli, respectively, the board approved adjourning at 5:05 p.m.

The video and a post about this meeting is available here.