IRE Training Committee Oct. 17, 2022 Report

<u>Timeline</u>

November 2022 – January 2023

• Working group meetings, research, craft recommendations

February 2023

- Training committee meets to finalize recommendations
- Committee chair (Hinkle) reviews recommendations with executive director and staff

March 2023

- Committee chair presents action item recommendations to board for consideration/vote
- April 2023
 - Staff begins implementation of recommendations

May 2023

- Committee chair reviews implementation timeline with staff
- Committee meets to make suggestions for next year's committee members

Working Groups 2022-23

Inclusivity/Representation

Objective: Research/brainstorm opportunities to provide equal access to training for members who might otherwise be excluded or marginalized. This could include but not be limited to members belonging to minority groups, people with physical or mental disabilities and students attending schools that serve underserved communities. This group should consult with IRE's diversity committee for input.

- Lam Thuy Vo (Working Group Leader)
 - o <u>lamthuyvo@gmail.com</u>
- April Simpson
 - o <u>asimpson@publicintegrity.org</u>
- Katrina Janco
 - o kjanco7@gmail.com

Local Journalism

Objective: Research/brainstorm opportunities for greater focus on training for local journalists. This could include revisiting the 2021-22 committee's recommendation for multi-day total market/region training for local journalists – but with a greater emphasis on underserved areas, safety and funding.

- Josh Hinkle (Working Group Leader)
 - o josh.hinkle@kxan.com
- Simone Weichselbaum
 - o <u>SimoneNBCLE@gmail.com</u>
- Lisa Pickoff-White
 - o <a>lpickoffwhite@kqed.org

Advanced Training/Veteran Members

Objective: Research/brainstorm opportunities for training for longtime or more experienced members – those who have already learned the basic skills of investigative journalism and are doing more difficult work. This could include outreach and partnership ideas with IRE's member services committee.

- Aaron Kessler (Working Group Leader)
 - o <u>kessler.aaron@gmail.com</u>
- Emily Le Coz

•

- o <u>ELeCoz@gannett.com</u>
- Alex Richards
 - o <u>aricha13@syr.edu</u>