Cart 0 $0.00
IRE favicon

Board of Directors

2022 Board Election

On June 25, 2022, IRE announced the results of the 2022 Board election, filling seven seats on the IRE Board of Directors and two seats on the Contest Committee.
View full election results

Past Board Members

IRE appreciates the many journalists who served the organization as members of the Board of Directors.
See past board members

Meeting Minutes

The Board of Directors generally meets two times a year to discuss and vote on IRE business. The board also conducts conference calls periodically. After being approved, the minutes are posted online for IRE members to view and download.
View past meeting minutes

Board Committees

Investigative Reporters and Editors committees allow board members and rank-and-file members to focus on specific areas or projects of interest and to explore new projects.

Committees are sometimes asked to address issues that come up in the full board meetings but that need more research. The committees then make recommendations to the full board.

Committee members are appointed by the board president.

2021-22 Committees

Executive Committee

Responsible for planning oversight, finance, personnel issues and board development.

  • Mark Walker, The New York Times, president
  • Kat Stafford, The Associated Press, vice president
  • Jodi Upton, Syracuse University, treasurer
  • Jennifer LaFleur, American University, secretary
  • Cindy Galli, ABC News, at-large member
Audit Committee

Oversees accountability of the organization and the annual external audit by a certified public accounting firm.

  • Neena Satija, The Washington Post, Chair
  • Mark Walker, The New York Times
  • Andy Donohue, Reveal from the Center for Investigative Reporting
  • Steven Rich, The Washington Post
  • Jennifer Peebles, Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Awards Committee

Oversees the annual contests, including the IRE Awards, Golden Padlock, Don Bolles Medal and Philip Meyer Awards.

  • Zaneta Lowe, WREG-TV, Memphis – Chair
  • Barbara Rodriguez, The 19th – Vice-chair
  • Jennifer LaFleur, The Center for Public Integrity
  • Cheryl Thompson, NPR
  • Jennifer Forsyth, The Wall Street Journal

IRE Awards Judges (subcommittee of the Awards Committee)

  • Zaneta Lowe, WREG-TV – Chair
  • Barbara Rodriguez, The 19th
  • Shannon Isbell, WBRC Fox6 -- elected
  • Angeliki Kastanis, The Associated Press -- elected
  • Fernando Diaz, Medill School of Journalism, Northwestern
Conference Committee

Oversees conferences.

  • Cindy Galli – IRE Board Member/ ABC News, Chair
  • Mark Rochester – IRE Board Member, inewsource
  • Josh Hinkle – IRE, KXAN News
  • Jennifer Forsyth – The Wall Street Journal
  • Corey Johnson, Tampa Bay Times, 
  • Ziva Bransetter, The Washington Post
  • Kyle Jones, NBC Connecticut
  • John Kelly, ABC News
Endowment Committee

Oversees the endowment and IRE investments.

  • Jodi Upton, Syracuse University
  • Brian Rosenthal, The New York Times
  • Tristan Ahtone, The Texas Observer
  • Laura Frank, Colorado News Collaborative
  • Norberto Santana Jr., Voice of OC
Governance Committee

Examines issues concerning IRE’s organizational structure and operating rules.

  • Marisa Kwiatkowski, USA Today, Chair
  • Brian Rosenthal, The New York Times, Vice Chair
  • Sarah Cohen, Arizona State University
  • Willoughby Mariano, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
  • Mark Rochester, inewsource
  • Sisi Wei, Open News
  • Lee Zurik, Fox 8 New Orleans
Elections Committee

Examining the election procedure and protocol for the organization

  • Jodie Fleischer, IRE Board of Directors/ NBC4 Washington, Chair
  • Marisa Kwiatkowski, IRE Board of Directors/ USA Today, Vice Chair
  • Cindy Galli, IRE Board of Directors/ ABC News
  • Lee Zurik, Fox 8 New Orleans
  • Mc Nelly Torres, The Center for Public Integrity
  • Rob Cribb, The Toronto Star
  • Jodi Upton, IRE Board of Directors/ Syracuse University
  • Neena Satija, The Washington Post
Member Services Committee

Responsible for member recruitment, reviewing training efforts and member resources.

  • Kat Stafford, IRE Board of Directors/ Associated Press - Co-chair
  • Jodie Flesicher, IRE Board of Directors/ - Co-chair
  • Ashley Graham, NBC2 Fort Myers
  • Caroline Chen, ProPublica
  • Kathleen Johnston, Indiana University
  • Aaron Kessler, Bloomberg News
  • Raisa Habersham, The Savannah Morning News
Diversity Task Force
  • Barbara Rodriguez, IRE Board of Directors/ The 19th News - Chair
  • Malak Silmi, a digital reporter at San Antonio Express-News
  • Daniela Molina, an investigative producer at Gray Television
  • Aaricka Washington, an education reporter at Chalkbeat's Indiana bureau
  • Alfonzo Galvan, a breaking news reporter at the Argus Leader in Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Ko Bragg, Race and Place editor for Scalawag
Revenue Committee

The fundraising arm of the IRE Board.

  • Jennifer Forsyth, IRE Board of Director/ The Wall Street Journal, chair
  • Evelyn Larrubia, The Mark-Up
  • Dana Chinn, USC Annenberg School of Journalism
  • Mark Horvit, University of Missouri
  • Jodi Upton, IRE Board of Directors, Syracuse University
  • Dianna Hunt, Indian Country Today
Training Committee

Examines training opportunities for the organization.

  • Josh Hinkle, IRE Board of Directors/KXAN-TV
  • Nicole Carr, ProPublica
  • Jamie Grey, Investigate TV (Gray)
  • Emily Le Coz, USA Today
  • Cory Myers, Argus Leader
  • Lisa Pickoff-White, KQED
  • Alex Richards, Syracuse University
  • April Simpson, Center for Public Integrity
  • Neena Satija, IRE Board of Directors/ The Washington Post
109 Lee Hills Hall, Missouri School of Journalism   |   221 S. Eighth St., Columbia, MO 65201   |   573-882-2042   |   |   Privacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram
My cart
Your cart is empty.

Looks like you haven't made a choice yet.