Cart 0 $0.00
IRE favicon

Announcing the NICAR23 fellows

IRE is proud to sponsor 35 fellowships for journalists attending #NICAR23 in Nashville, March 2-5. 

NICAR23 fellowships were available for any journalist; journalists, students and educators of color; Illinois journalism students and early-career journalists; and educators who teach data journalism/investigative reporting. IRE membership for one year and support to offset conference attendance expenses were included in fellowships. 

All fellows were required to meet IRE’s membership standards: Someone substantially engaged in news gathering, presentation or production; a student pursuing a degree or someone engaged full-time in research or teaching in the field of journalism.

Congratulations, NICAR23 fellows!

David Donald Fellowship

  • Yolanda Campbell, Southern University and A&M College

Gary Marx Fellowship

  • Emeline Posner, Northwestern University
  • Amy Qin, WBEZ Chicago

IRE Fellowship

  • Alex Reed, Black Voice News
  • Ben Camacho, Knock LA
  • Emma Carew Grovum, The Marshall Project
  • Yesica Prado, San Francisco Public Press
  • Aadit Tambe, The Washington Post
  • Caitlin McGlade, Arizona Republic
  • Betsy Ladyzhets, MuckRock 
  • David Cordero Mercado, GFR Media (Puerto Rico)
  • Lisa Catterall, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
  • Aarushi Sahejpal, American University School of Communication & Investigative Reporting Workshop
  • Julia Ingram, Columbia University
  • Erin McGroarty, University of Wisconsin-Madison 
  • Xueer Lu, University of California, Berkeley
  • Dana Chiueh, Stanford University
  • Cassandra Dumay, Boston University
  • Kelsey Volk, Kansas State University
  • Elle Perry, The Daily Memphian
  • Kayode Crown, Mississippi Free Press
  • Ashley Miznazi, The Haitian Times
  • Rebecca Grapevine, Capitol Beat News Service
  • Kelly Kenoyer, WHQR Radio
  • Kyeland Jackson, Star Tribune
  • Ana Azpurua, Univision
  • Ren Larson, The Assembly
  • JaNae Williams, The Oklahoman
  • Melissa Hellmann, The Center for Public Integrity
  • Caroline Eggers, WPLN News
  • Alexis Marshall, WPLN News 
  • Tonyaa Weathersbee, Chalkbeat Tennessee

Journalist of Color Investigative Reporting Fellowship

  • Leslie Rangel, KTBC-TV
  • Halima Gikandi, The World Radio Program
  • Kaylee Tornay, InvestigateWest
109 Lee Hills Hall, Missouri School of Journalism   |   221 S. Eighth St., Columbia, MO 65201   |   573-882-2042   |   |   Privacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram
My cart
Your cart is empty.

Looks like you haven't made a choice yet.