Cart 0 $0.00
IRE favicon

10 journalists receive IRE fellowships

Thanks to the generosity of many, IRE is fortunate to have funding available to provide fellowships for financial assistance to its CAR boot camps. This month, IRE awarded ten fellowships for the January 2019 CAR Boot Camp.

Rachelle Younglai of the Globe and Mail (Toronto) and Priya Sridhar of KPBS (San Diego) received the Ottoway Fellowship.

Established by David Ottaway and the Ottaway Family Fund, the Ottoway Fellowship is aimed at increasing the diversity of IRE's membership.

Megan Heaton of PennLive, Eve Byron of the Missoulian (Missoula, Montana) and Andrew Bowen of KPBS (San Diego) received the Total Newsroom Training Fellowship.

Total Newsroom Training (TNT) Fellowships are open to those who have completed two days of TNT training between 2013 and 2018.

Emily Siegel of NBC (New York) received the Holly Whisenhunt Stephen Fellowship.

Established by WTHR-Indianapolis to honor Holly Whisenhunt Stephen, an award-winning journalist and longtime IRE member, who died November 2008 after a long battle with cancer.

Lori Jane Gliha of Rocky Mountain PBS (Denver, Colorado), Kevin Rothstein of WCVB-TV (Needham, Massachusetts) and Carter Coyle of WCSC-TV (Charleston, South Carolina) received the Knight TV Data Fellowship.

Funded by the Knight Foundation to strengthen data watchdog skills at local TV stations across the United States.

Marina Riker of the Victoria Advocate (Victoria, Texas) received the R-CAR Fellowship.

Established by IRE member Daniel Gilbert, the fellowship is intended to provide rural reporters with training they may not otherwise receive. The fellowship is offered in conjunction with the Institute for Rural Journalism and Community Issues at the University of Kentucky.


If you are interested in applying for a fellowship for financial assistance for future IRE boot camps, go here for more information and due dates. The next due date is Jan. 28 to attend the March CAR Boot Camp. IRE also offers financial assistance to its two annual conferences. The next deadline is Jan. 7. More information can be found here.

109 Lee Hills Hall, Missouri School of Journalism   |   221 S. Eighth St., Columbia, MO 65201   |   573-882-2042   |   |   Privacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram
My cart
Your cart is empty.

Looks like you haven't made a choice yet.