Cart 0 $0.00
IRE favicon

Announcing the 2016 IRE Award winners and finalists

IRE is proud to announce the winners and finalists of the 2016 IRE Awards

In the year in which presidential politics seemingly dominated the news, journalists from around the world exposed doctors who preyed on their patients and USA gymnastics coaches who sexually assaulted young athletes. The work of other journalists led to improved living conditions for the disabled, the end of hidden co-pays with prescription drugs by a giant health-insurance company and a criminal investigation of campaign finance law in Britain.

These investigations are among the 18 winning entries in the 2016 Investigative Reporters & Editors Awards. Another 37 entries were chosen as finalists.

A team of more than 400 journalists from around the globe who produced the “Panama Papers” project has been selected as the winner of the Gannett Award for Innovation in Watchdog Journalism. The reporters sifted through 11.5 million leaked files to expose the hidden financial dealings of world leaders, fraudsters, gangsters, drug traffickers, billionaires, celebrities, sports stars and more.

"If you are looking for inspiration, high-caliber reporting, and impressive execution, look no farther than this exceptional lineup of award-winning journalism,” said Jill Riepenhoff, chair of IRE’s Contest Committee and a projects reporter with The Columbus Dispatch. “The judges were impressed by the strong investigative work being done in newsrooms around the world, from small to large. The winners and finalists faced immense obstacles – and in some cases, threats – but persevered. They show that the work of our members is more important than ever.”

This year’s winners and finalists were selected from among more than 480 entries.

The awards, given by Investigative Reporters & Editors Inc. since 1979, recognize the most outstanding watchdog journalism of the year. The contest covers 17 categories across media platforms and a range of market sizes.

Click here for a complete list of winners and finalists.

109 Lee Hills Hall, Missouri School of Journalism   |   221 S. Eighth St., Columbia, MO 65201   |   573-882-2042   |   |   Privacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram
My cart
Your cart is empty.

Looks like you haven't made a choice yet.