Cart 0 $0.00
IRE favicon

Downie, Johnston, Cribb join IRE board

David Cay Johnston, author and journalist, and Leonard Downie Jr. of The Washington Post won seats on the IRE Board of Directors at the 2009 IRE Conference in Baltimore. (See voting results online)

Four incumbent candidates were re-elected to the 13-member board: Lise Olsen of The Houston Chronicle, Cheryl Phillips of The Seattle Times, broadcast journalist Lea Thompson, and Alison Young of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

IRE members also approved an amendment to IRE’s Articles of Incorporation which removes the restriction on the number of academic members who can serve on the board.

Two IRE members were selected to serve on the IRE Awards committee: Rob Cribb of The Toronto Star and Neil Reisner of Florida International University.

Update: Rob Cribb of The Toronto Star has joined the IRE board of directors to finish the remaining term of a seat vacated by Jason Grotto, who resigned June 26. Under Section 6.10 of IRE's Code of Bylaws, vacancies on the board of directors are to be filled by "the next qualified highest vote recipients among nominees at the last previous election, to serve until the next meeting of the membership..." Cribb was the next highest vote recipient at the election June 13.

109 Lee Hills Hall, Missouri School of Journalism   |   221 S. Eighth St., Columbia, MO 65201   |   573-882-2042   |   |   Privacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram
My cart
Your cart is empty.

Looks like you haven't made a choice yet.