Cart 0 $0.00
IRE favicon

George Polk Award winners

The following members received George Polk Awards: David Barstow of The New York Times for “Message Machine”; Richard Behar for “China Storms Africa” in Fast Company; Adam Davidson of National Public Radio and Alex Blumberg of “This American Life” for “The Giant Pool of Money”; M.L. Elrick and Jim Schaefer of the Detroit Free Press for work that led to the resignation and imprisonment of former Detroit Mayer Kwame Kilpatrick; Solly Granatstein, Scott Pelley and Nicole Young of CBS News “60 Minutes” for “The Wasteland”; Meg Kissinger and Susanne Rust of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel for “Chemical Fallout: A Journal Sentinel Watchdog Report”; Eric Nalder of the Seattle Post-Intelligencer for “Demoted to Private: America’s Military Housing Disaster.”

Ken Armstrong and Nick Perry of The Seattle Times received the George Polk Award for Sports Reporting for “Victory and Ruins.” The series revealed how a community's blind embrace of a football team compromised judges, prosecutors, police agencies, a university and the media.

Ryan Gabrielson and Paul Giblin of the East Valley Tribune in Mesa, Ariz., received the George Polk Award for Justice Reporting for “Reasonable Doubt,” which investigated the transformation of the Maricopa County Sheriff's Office into an anti-illegal immigration agency.

109 Lee Hills Hall, Missouri School of Journalism   |   221 S. Eighth St., Columbia, MO 65201   |   573-882-2042   |   |   Privacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram
My cart
Your cart is empty.

Looks like you haven't made a choice yet.