Cart 0 $0.00
IRE favicon

IRE Board elects officers for 2023-24

The new president of the IRE Board of Directors is Brian M. Rosenthal, investigative reporter at The New York Times. 

Previously, Rosenthal served as treasurer.

The 13-member Board of Directors elected new officers for 2023-24 on June 30, 2023. 

The new vice president is Josh Hinkle, director of investigations and innovation at KXAN in Austin, Texas. Previously, Hinkle served as secretary.

The board elected Mark Greenblatt as treasurer. Greenblatt is executive editor of the Howard Center for Investigative Journalism at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University. Before taking on his new position at ASU, Greenblatt was the senior national investigative correspondent at Scripps News in Washington, D.C., for 10 years.

The new secretary is Darla Cameron, managing editor for visual journalism at the Texas Tribune. The new At-large Officer is Lam Thuy Vo, a reporter at The Markup and associate data journalism professor at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at City University of New York.

As immediate past president, Mark Walker, investigative reporter at The New York Times, will continue to serve on the IRE Executive Committee in an advisory role as Chairman of the Board. 

Officers serve one-year terms. All board members serve two-year terms; six are elected one year and seven the next year. Six seats were up for election this year.

Cameron, Greenblatt, Vo and Walker are in the second year of their two-year terms on the board.

Rosenthal and Hinkle were reelected in this year’s board elections to another two-year term.  Board members Cindy Galli and Jodie Fleischer also were reelected to two-year terms on the board in this year’s elections. 

Two new board members were elected: Hyuntaek “Tag” Lee, an assistant editor at The Chosun Ilbo, a major newspaper in Seoul, South Korea, and Ana Ley, a reporter at The New York Times.

The results of the 2023 elections were announced at IRE23 in Orlando, Florida, on June 24.

Former board members Neena Satija, investigative reporter at the Houston Chronicle, and Barbara Rodriguez, state politics and voting reporter at The 19th*, ended their two-year terms in June. They chose not to seek reelection and were honored for their service at the IRE23 Awards Luncheon on June 24.

109 Lee Hills Hall, Missouri School of Journalism   |   221 S. Eighth St., Columbia, MO 65201   |   573-882-2042   |   |   Privacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram
My cart
Your cart is empty.

Looks like you haven't made a choice yet.