IRE Student Sponsorship Program

IRE is committed to developing the next generation of investigative reporters by introducing more students to the organization. To do this, we need your help. Please consider sponsoring a $25 student membership on behalf of your alma mater, college media or for an intern at your news organization. You can also donate a membership to help support IRE’s efforts to build a more ethnically and racially diverse organization. Unless you prefer to remain anonymous, your name and the institution receiving the membership will be listed on IRE’s website.

If you decide to sponsor a student, please promote the program through social media. Use the hashtag #SponsorIRE and tweet a link to this page.



You can sponsor a student membership in three ways:

1. Sponsor an individual student. That student will receive an email that you have sponsored them for one year. If they already have an active membership, it will be extended for another year.

2. Donate a general student membership. This option allows you to donate a membership to your alma mater or college media organization. IRE will work with professors and other campus leaders to find a student. That student will receive an email that you have sponsored their membership for one year. If you happen to know of a professor, adviser or student editor at your chosen institution, you can list their name and email on the form. This would be greatly appreciated, but is not required.

You can also choose to direct your student sponsorship to support IRE’s efforts to build a more ethnically and racially diverse organization. IRE will work with a variety of universities to match these donations with students.

3. Donate to our student fund. Make a general donation of any amount to help send an ethnically or racially diverse student to an IRE training.


If you have questions or need assistance, please contact




Together, we can secure the future of IRE by introducing the journalists of tomorrow to this forum in which journalists throughout the world are encouraged to grow through training and helping each other. With this sharing of story ideas, newsgathering techniques, news sources and more, we are the collective family of IRE.

A list of donations starting from 2018 are below:



Mike Balsamo – University of Southern California

Lee Zurik – Syracuse University (2)

Ryan Thornburg – UNC-Chapel Hill

Bethany Barnes – Arizona Daily Wildcat

Ken Ward – The Daily Athenaeum (2)

Beth Burger – Henry W. Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia

Rachel Alexander – Western Washington University/The Western Front (2)

Andy Boyle – University of Nebraska-Lincoln (4)

Christopher Baxter – University of Michigan (2)

Christopher Baxter – Ithaca College

Anita Hofschneider – UC Berkeley

Jamie Hopkins – The Retriever (2)

Kendall Taggart – Reed College (2)

Ben Welsh – DePaul University

Ryan Gabrielson – University of Arizona (2)

Ryan Gabrielson – Arizona Daily Wildcat (2)

Roxanne Scott – Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY

Matt Carroll – Northeastern University (4)

Melissa Cassutt – CU Independent

Russ Walker – University of Washington-Tacoma

Doug Reynolds – Marshall Parthenon (2)

Beth Burger – The Red & Black

Melissa Cassutt – Rocky Mountain Collegian

Ryan Murphy – Elon University and Kent State University

Sarah Hutchins – University of Missouri

Jayme Fraser – University of Montana (3)

Ellen Gabler – Emory University (2)

Denise Malan – University of Arkansas (2)

Kate Howard – West Kentucky University

Jon Collins – University of Minnesota

Josephy Cranney – Temple University

Brett Murphy – University of California-Berkeley

Tyler Dukes – Duke University

Jill Riepenhoff – Ohio University (4)

Ryan Thornburg – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Tisha Thompson – Princeton University

Tisha Thompson – University of Missouri (2)

Tisha Thompson – University of Wyoming

Ryan Martin – University of Missouri (2)

James M. Cox Jr. Institute for Journalism Innovation, University of Georgia in honor of Professor Barry Hollander (12)

Andrew Becker – University of Utah

Dick Munro – Florida Gulf Coast University (4)

Alva Johnson – Southern Adventist University (6)

Jennifer LaFleur – American University (5)

Tom Scheck – University of Minnesota & University of Missouri

Sarah Mervosh – University of Notre Dame (4)

Janet Roberts – UNC-Chapel Hill (2)

Andrew Lehren – City University of New York (2)

Sam Roe – Columbia College Chicago (3)

Jon Schleuss – University of Arkansas

Richard Brunson – University of Central Florida (2)

ProPublica Illinois – (6)

Denise Malan – University of Arkansas (2)

Matt Drange – Humboldt State University

Denny Wilkins – St. Bonaventure University

Sam Roe – Columbia College Chicago

Andy Boyle – University of Nebraska – Lincoln (4)

Ron Campbell – Stanford University (4)

Russ Walker – University of Washington – Tacoma

Joey Stipek – University of Oklahoma

Andrew Becker – Westminster College

Andrew Becker – Brigham Young University

Beatrice Jin – Columbia University

Christopher Baxter – University of Maryland, College Park

Christopher Baxter – Ball State University

Christopher Baxter – University of Pittsburgh

Sean Sullivan – Rowan University

Sean Sullivan – Tulane University

Sean Sullivan – University of Massachusetts Amherst

Sean Sullivan – The New School


Maud Beelman

Donovan Myrie

Robert Salladay

Bethany Barnes

Brendan McCarthy

Peter Benjaminson

Ted Han

Anthony Pesce

Heather Ciras

Ryan Gabrielson

Sisi Wei

Bill Wareham

Andrew Becker

Maria O’Mara

Sam Roe

ProPublica Illinois

Kathleen McGrory

Ronald Campbell

Carli Brosseau